What is the Bias Resource & Education Team? 

The Bias Resource & Education Team (BRET) serves as a safe resource for members of the Lebanon Valley College community to raise concerns regarding incidents of bias or acts of harassment and discrimination that impact them and the College community.

BRET offers assistance to the Lebanon Valley College community by providing resources to individuals impacted by and/or involved in a reported incident. BRET is not a disciplinary body; reported incidents that potentially violate College policy may result in accountability through the College’s disciplinary processes. Certain reported acts of potential bias may be constitutionally protected speech and thus may not be subject to College action. 

Lebanon Valley College values open expression and debate in the context of civility and mutual respect for diverse individuals and communities; bias incidents directly impact our ability to know, trust, support, and learn from one another.

What is a Bias Incident?

A bias incident is a perceived act of bigotry, harassment, or intimidation committed by or against a member of the Lebanon Valley College community based on actual or perceived race, color, sex, religion, ancestry, genetic information, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, familial status, marital status, age, veteran status, mental or physical disability, use of guide or support animals and/or mechanical aids, or any other basis protected by applicable federal, state, or local laws. These acts may include, but are not limited to, slurs, graffiti, written messages, or images that harass or intimidate individuals or groups because of their membership in the above listed protected classes.

Lebanon Valley College Statement of Non-Discrimination

Lebanon College is a welcoming community that embraces and values the diversity of all members of the campus community. We accept the uniqueness of all individuals, and we cultivate an environment that respects, affirms, and defends the dignity of each member of our community.  

Why Should I Report a Bias Incident?

All members of the community are encouraged to report any bias-related incidents they become aware of or experience. Bias-related behaviors are reinforced when you remain silent about, laugh at, or provide excuses for the behavior. Our goals of establishing a reporting mechanism for reporting incidents of bias are:

  • To provide support to those who have been the target of or witnessed bias-related incidents
  • To create awareness of ignorance and intolerance as it relates to bias or hate incidents
  • To be informed of the frequency and nature of bias-related incidents
  • To provide educational opportunities where needed to promote understanding and demonstrate our commitment to creating and maintaining an inclusive community
  • To minimize and ultimately eradicate the occurrence of bias-related incidents across our campus community

Students are free to utilize our bias reporting process regardless of whether they pursue additional on or off-campus support.

Bias Incident Investigation Protocols
 

HOW TO REPORT AN INCIDENT

You can report a Bias incident in any of the following ways.

  • Call the confidential and anonymous Campus Conduct Hotline at 866-943-5787
  • Submit a Bias Incident report form
  • Contact Public Safety x6111 or 717-867-6111

Meet the Team

Bias Resource and Education Team Members

Felicia Brown-Haywood, associate vice president of diversity, equity, inclusion, and institutional success, BRET coordinator 
bhaywood@lvc.edu

Kathleen Blouch, LVC STEM curriculum & partnership coordinator 
blouch@lvc.edu

Andrea Haldeman, chaplain and coordinator of spiritual life 
haldeman@lvc.edu

Bethann Hankin, assistant director of admission 
hankin@lvc.edu

Ann Hayes, senior director of human resources and Title IX coordinator 
hayes@lvc.edu

Jenna Marx, assistant professor of Psychology 
marx@lvc.edu

Tammy Miller, student accounts coordinator and cashier 
tmiller@lvc.edu

Laura Richardson, assistant professor of SLP 
lrichard@lvc.edu

Jill Russell, director of global education 
russell@lvc.edu

Matthew Sayers, professor of Religion 
sayers@lvc.edu

Jennifer Thornsberry, biology lab technician 
thornsbe@lvc.edu

Danielle Vigilante-Webb, director of advancement operations 
vigilant@lvc.edu

Jonathan Walker-Vankuren, artist teacher of studio voice and music theatre 
jowalker@lvc.edu

Holly Wendt, associate professor of English 
wendt@lvc.edu

Heather Whitman, senior assistant for the president’s office 
whitman@lvc.edu