Campus Music Performances

AUGUST


Sunday, August 31, 2014 3:00pm     Rebecca Crow Lister     Zimmerman Hall
                          Voice

Rebecca Crow Lister will be performing a faculty voice recital with Shelly Moorman-Stahlman,
     accompanist.  Works will be in Portuguese and Spanish by composers such as Villa-Lobos,
                            Salvador Moreno, Alberto Ginastera, and others.  The theme will be "Music from the Forests
                            and Plains," and will include Ginastera's mesmerizing Las Horas de Una Estancia and
                 Villa-Lobos' passionate Songs from the Amazon Forest.



SEPTEMBER


Wednesday, September 10  7:30pm     John Protopapas     Zimmerman Hall
               Presents Classical Indian Music
               A preview of John Protopapas




Thursday, September 11  7:30pm     Genghis Barbie     Lutz Hall
             Presented by Burgner Chamber Music *
       
A preview of Genghis Barbie


Sunday, September 14 3:00pm     Shelly Moorman-Stahlman     Miller Chapel
                            Organ

  Organist, Shelly Moorman-Stahlman will combine forces with her colleagues at Lebanon
Valley College
for a concert featuring organ and other instrumentsThe program will
   include Four Small Duets for Two Keyboard Instruments by C.P.E. Bach in honor of
                               C.P.E.'s 300 year anniversary.  The work will be assisted by Dr. Brenda Leach, Adjunct
                              Instructor
of Music.  The Organ Concerto in F Major by George Frederick Handel will
                                utilize a string ensemble featuring Michael Gamon; LVC Alumnus; Jenny Gamon: Marian
                      Dura, Director of the Masters of Music Education Program; Ai-Lin-Hseih, Adjunct
                               Instructor of Music; and Timothy Wolfe, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music. 
                                 Moorman-Stahlman will include the major work for organ, Mycenea: Graveshaft V written
                                by colleague and friend, Scott Eggert, Professor Emeritus of Music.  Mycenea was written
                                 in 1998, the same year as a work by Dan Locklair,  Sonata da Chiesa for Flute and Organ.
                      This selection will be performed by Michelle Barraclough, Adjunct Instructor of Music.
                              
Moorman-Stahlman will also perform J.S. Bach's Prelude and Fugue in C Major, BWV 547
                                    and movements for Locklair's Rubrics for solo organ.




Monday, September 22  4:00pm    Kyoko Okamoto     Zimmerman Hall
                       Koto Recital

 

OCTOBER
 


Sunday, October 12  3:00pm     Jeff Lovell & Friends     Zimmerman Hall
                   Jazz Piano



Tuesday, October 14  7:00pm Sophomore Recital Lutz Hall
Wednesday, October 15  7:00pm Sophomore Recital Lutz Hall
Thursday, October 16  7:00pm Sophomore Recital Lutz Hall






Tuesday, October 21  7:30pm Katelyn Umberger, Handbells Lutz Hall
Wednesday, October 22  7:30pm Public Recital Lutz Hall
Thursday, October 23  7:30pm Steven Christ, Clarinet Zimmerman Hall






Monday, October 27  4:00pm Campus Recital Lutz Hall
Wednesday, October 29  7:30pm Robin Holman & Tyler Shaull, Trumpet Lutz Hall
Thursday, October 30  7:30pm Krystyn Whitmyer, Trumpet Lutz Hall

NOVEMBER

Wednesday, November 5  7:30pm Kenneth Ayer, Saxophone                         
Zimmerman Hall 
Thursday, November 6  7:30pm Jacob Topping, Trombone Zimmerman Hall
Saturday, November 8  4:00pm Honors Orchestra Lutz Hall


Sunday, November 9  3:00pm     Shelly Moorman-Stahlman     Lutz Hall
                                   Piano



Monday, November 10  4:00pm Campus Recital                           
Lutz Hall              
Tuesday, November 11  7:30pm 


Kathleen King & Bryan Shoemaker
    
       Percussion & Electric Bass

Lutz Hall

Wednesday, November 12  7:30pm      Percussion Ensemble     Lutz Hall






Thursday, November 13  7:30pm Brittaney Shue, Flute Zimmerman Hall
Friday, November 14  7:30pm Small Jazz Ensemble Lutz Hall






Sunday, November 16  3:00pm
Symphony Orchestra Lutz Hall
Monday, November 17  7:30pm                                    Kandice Tanner, Percussion Lutz Hall                               
Tuesday, November, 18 7:30pm
Evening of Woodwinds Lutz Hall
Wednesday, November 19 7:30pm  

Amy Karnes & Katelyn Umberger, Flute                                
Zimmerman Hall  
                           

                                                  
Thursday, November 20  7:30pm     Guitar Ensemble & Studio     Lutz Hall
                                     




Friday, November 21 7:30pm     Jazz Band     Lutz Hall
                              



Sunday, November 23  3:00pm
Rovers American Music Concert, Sinfonia
Leedy Theatre        
Monday, November 24  7:30pm  
New Music Ensemble                              
Lutz Hall


 DECEMBER

Monday, December 1  4:00pm Campus Recital Lutz Hall
Tuesday, December 2  7:30pm Mark Sorensen & Andrew Kittleson
                Organ &Trombone        
Miller Chapel
Wednesday, December 3  7:30pm John Johnston, Oboe Zimmerman Hall      
Thursday, December 4  7:30pm Public Recital Lutz Hall


Sunday, December 7 3:00pm & 7:00pm     Christmas at the Valley     Miller Chapel
Featuring LVC Handbell, Concert, Chamber, and College Choirs




 

*  Burgner Chamber Music Concerts are possible through the generosity of Newton'32 and Adelaide '43 Burgner.  Through their estate, the couple established a fund for Chamber Music which allows for yearly Chamber Music performances at Lebanon Valley College.  past performances have included the Philadelphia Brass.

 
 
 

For more information, please contact:

 

Lebanon Valley College
Department of Music
101 N College Ave
Annville, PA 17003
(717)867-6275