Valley News Recent Headlines
New Academic Honor Societies Recognize Student Achievement
04.04.13 |
Lebanon Valley College is committed to recognizing the academic achievements of its students, and this year has activated membership in four new honor societies on campus to do just that. Philosophy, religion, education, and physics students will be inducted for the first time to national and international honor societies on campus during Inquiry 2013. Additionally, the College has reactivated its membership in Sigma Tau Delta, the English national honor society.

“Honor societies exist to recognize those students who have excelled in attaining that knowledge, and to invite them to an exclusive group based on their academic success,” Dr. Ann Damiano, associate dean of academic affairs, said. “With the introduction of these four new societies on campus we are able to publicly congratulate students who truly deserve recognition.”

Phi Sigma Tau is the international honor society for philosophers and was founded in 1930; today it has more than 200 chapters throughout the United States and Canada. The purpose of Phi Sigma Tau is to encourage interest and activity among students and to promote ties between philosophy departments in accredited institutions. Phi Sigma Tau publishes a journal, “Dialogue,” for student contributions in all areas of contemporary philosophical research. Marquis Bey, Ashley Ferrari, Anthony Feudale, and Halley Washburn will be inducted to LVC’s chapter of Phi Sigma Tau on April 15.

The Department of Religion and Philosophy also established a local chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, the national honor society for religion studies and theology. Established in 1976, today the society includes more than 200 U.S. chapters ranging from small religiously affiliated colleges to large public research institutions. It is the only national honor society dedicated to recognizing academic excellence in baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate students and in scholars in the fields of religious studies and theology. Cristabelle Braden, Daniel Kimmel, and Samantha Oates will be inducted to LVC’s chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa on April 15.

“The establishment of these two local chapters of honor societies for both philosophy and religion students marks a commitment on behalf of the department that our students are receiving an education and doing work worthy of national and even international recognition,” said Dr. Jeff Robbins, department chair and professor of religion and philosophy.

Education students will be inducted to Kappa Delta Pi, the international honor society in education. Founded in 1911, Kappa Delta Pi represents knowledge, duty, and power. Pioneering from its beginning by including women as well as men, KDP grew from a local chapter to the international organization it is today, comprising 600 chapters and more than 40,000 members. Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, Eleanor Roosevelt, and Margaret Mead are just a few of the historically known members.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the national honor society for physics students. It exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics, encourage interest in physics among students at all levels, promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public, and to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies and has some 75,000 historical members. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership. Shane Jacobeen, Hana Krechel, Anthony Hoover, Christy Wilson, Andrew Suprock, and Nicholas Durofchalf will participate in the inaugural induction Sigma Pi Sigma ceremony on campus.

“We are very excited to honor the achievements of these dedicated and hardworking students at the Sigma Pi Sigma induction banquet,” Dr. Ruth Malenda, teaching fellow in physics, said. “Membership in Sigma Pi Sigma indicates a commitment to excellence and a love of learning that is truly commendable.”

In addition to establishing these four honor society chapters on campus, the College also reactivated its membership in Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. Established in 1924 to confer distinction for high achievement in English language, literature, and writing, Sigma Tau Delta is dedicated to fostering literacy and all aspects of the English discipline. There are more than 825 local chapters in the U.S. and abroad—and new chapters are established each year. Sigma Tau Delta inductees promote exemplary character and good fellowship and exhibit high standards of academic excellence. Fourteen students will join the ranks of Lebanon Valley College alumni inducted between 1981 and 1994 at an April 16 induction ceremony.

“We’re very pleased that Omicron Omicron, the Lebanon Valley chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, has been reactivated," said Dr. Gary Grieve-Carlson, professor of English and society advisor. "Our majors do outstanding work, and they deserve recognition.”

For a full list of Lebanon Valley College honor societies, visit To learn more about Inquiry 2013, visit

Recycled Goods Sought for Service Projects
View Full Story

LVC’s Suzanne H. Arnold Art Gallery Presents Intersection of Art and the Printed Word
View Full Story

Service by Students at Lebanon Valley College Valued at More Than a Half Million Dollars
View Full Story

Cirque du “He Could Go All The Way” – Linn at ESPN
View Full Story

Irish History Research Leads to Prestigious Award for Charles McElwee '11
View Full Story

Harrisburg Symphony Orchestra Returns for Annual Concert at Lebanon Valley College
View Full Story

Lebanon Valley College Students Visit Puerto Rico For Service-Learning Trip
View Full Story

Julian Gerace Honored For Work With Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia
View Full Story

LVC Physical Therapy Clinic Opens Doors to General Public
View Full Story

Lebanon Valley’s Annual Juried Art Exhibition: June 5 to 21
View Full Story

Student and Professor Collaborate on Published Essay
View Full Story

Fifth Annual Arnold Grants and High-Impact Experience Fund Awards Announced by LVC
View Full Story

Inaugural Class of DCED School of Municipal Government Honored May 19
View Full Story

Lebanon Valley Colleges Names Daniel Helwig Vice President of Advancement
View Full Story

Edwin Wright Named Vice President of Enrollment Management
View Full Story

Lebanon Valley College Announces New Members of the Board of Trustees
View Full Story